Spectacles: frumpy or sexy?

Actually I don’t need to wear glasses. But I wouldn’t mind if I did.

Diva Specs

Jeepers creepers

During an evening at The Cumberland Bar last week a debate started about the attractiveness of glasses. Many people choose to wear contacts rather than glasses. And I know there are many reasons people choose contact lenses, it’s not just about how they look. However, I was surprised to hear people say they don’t like wearing glasses because they’re frumpy.

My darlings I beg to differ. Specs are sexy! In support of my case may I enter these pieces of evidence before the court…

Leona Lewis in Glasses

Leona Lewis totally rocking the four-eyed look. Picture from http://www.zimbio.com

Megan Fox wearing Glasses

Who says guys don't make passes at girls who wear glasses? Picture from http://www.zimbio.com

Johnny Depp wearing Glasses

Simply delicious. Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I rest my case. Picture from http://www.dailymail.co.uk

And just to prove you don’t have to be a celeb. And because it is my blog. And because I’ve never been known to shy away from a photo opp.

Diva Specs

Be-spectacled. Thanks for the glasses Julian

So where do you stand dear reader are specs frumpy or sexy?

 

If you wear glasses or contacts give us your thoughts below

4 responses to “Spectacles: frumpy or sexy?

  1. I have glasses and contact lenses. Being short sighted I don’t need glasses to read but I do need them for driving and seeing across a crowded room. I prefer wearing my lenses when I am out and about as they don’t steam up, don’t get rain splattered and I don’t need to take them off to read. I wear my glasses when I’m watching tv in the evening,when I’m too lazy to put my lenses in or when I know I’m going swimming or for short periods of needing to see. I don’t think either of my glasses are sexy (and I need new frames anyway) but they are not frumpy either! And the harsh fact is, that for most people the time to wear glasses comes not long after you hit 40!

  2. I don’t need any corrective lenses to see, I have perfect eyesight. But I’ve always wished I could wear glasses because I look smarter (and who knows, sexier?) with them! I’ve fleetingly thought about getting a pair of plain glass ones, but though that’d be a bit too much vanity. Plus everyone knows I don’t need them. It’s like Dr. Who.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one. I did actually go into an opticians once to choose a pair. That was when I found out the frames are just as expensive, if not more so, than prescription lenses. I decided I’d rather spend on something else. But according to Miss M we’re more likely to need glasses post 40 anyway. Bit of a wait for you though!

Leave a Reply

